Make your own free website on

Major Archiepiscopal Churches

A Major Archiepiscopal Church has the same structure and autonomy of a Patriarchal Church. The main difference is that the election of a Major Archbishop needs confirmation by the Pope, while that of a Patriarch has only to be notified to the Pope and other Patriarchs. Three of the Eastern Churches are Major Archiepiscopal Churches. They are Ukranian, Syro-Malabar and Syro-Malankara. Ukranian and Syro-Malabar Churches are the largest Eastern Catholic Churches. They have requested the Holy See to grant them patriarchal status. Syro-Malabar Church was elevated to the status of a Major Archiepiscopal Church on May 20, 1993 with His Eminence Cardinal Antony Padiyara as the First Major Archbishop.

[ Home | Christianity in India ]